阿塞卡德

MUSA-ON4000x4000.jpg

給ON聽眾的一封信

                     ON是文字遊戲。首先,這是一個電子項目,所有電子設備都必須有一個打開按鈕。但英語中的 ON也意味著 about(如我即將出版的書“關於存在和糕點的本質”)。這張專輯中的每首歌都反映了隨著時間的推移似乎對我越來越重要的特定主題(例如糕點)。  

 

                   但這張專輯不僅僅是關於我的。一點也不。大約五年前,我以某種方式能夠擺脫對電子音樂毫無根據(而且非常愚蠢)的偏見。當我開始投入其中時,我很快意識到,以一種非常不同的方式,它與探戈、爵士、古巴音樂以及我喜歡聽和演奏的所有其他音樂一樣深沉而復雜。做這10首歌的demo,我很清楚我需要幫助,我只能想到一個人。我給程傑傑傑發了一封電子郵件(因為他根本不使用任何消息或社交媒體應用程序),他同意與我見面。從此,這張專輯成為了我們的專輯。在紙面上,他是製片人,我是藝術家。實際上,我們只是兩個工匠,使用不同的工具在同一塊木頭上工作。為了介紹這張專輯,我將與大家分享我在那次會議上給他的 10 個 Demo 時向他展示的所有簡短文本:

     

                    我很幸運,出生在一個給我強烈自由感的家庭。我很小的時候就被教導,即使我的自由只限於選擇是否結束自己的生命,我們所做的事情總是有一定程度的自由,重要的是不要忽視這一點.但我幸運的不僅是我被賦予的自由感,還有我被賦予的愛。我是因為有人關心我,否則我不會。有人餵養我,給了我溫暖,這就是為什麼我認為沒有愛人的生活是不可能的。  

                    不幸的是,我用那種自由和愛去追求我實際上並不需要甚至不喜歡的東西,只是因為我想融入其中。 我認為成為我家庭和我出生的社會的一部分比誠實更重要與我自己,這只會帶來很多痛苦。因此,當我終於能夠真誠地接受並活出我內心的真理時無論過去還是現在,我都找到了與我建立自己家庭的人。多年來,我們意識到建立在自由、愛和真理基礎上的家庭關係只不過是一種深刻的友誼,這似乎是唯一一種可以持續一生的人際關係。不幸的是,在我看來,在人類互動的每一種形式中,暴力的出現總是一種潛在的可能性。當強烈的情緒出現時,如果我讓它們接管,後悔的感覺是唯一可能的結果。為了避免它,呼吸這個簡單的動作是必不可少的。它允許空間意識到暴力的感覺,就像任何其他情緒或感覺一樣,最終會消退。如果每天都做,這種呼吸行為向我表明,生活在一種不那麼防禦性的心態中是可能的。隨著時間的流逝,我開始將其視為一個循環,它傾向於以不同的形式重複自己,從愛到暴力,再到愛,這似乎以我們在地球上的最後一個行動“死亡”結束所以,我想如果我試著去注意事物之間微妙的平衡,而不是把自己放在旅程的黑暗面,而是看到它們與最光明面的關係,我會沒事的(我希望)。這段旅程在哪裡發生?在台灣。這個島及其人民為我提供了以我的方式發展自己所需的所有工具和機會。這就是為什麼現在,快到我 40 歲生日時,我回首往事,想起所有的愛、淚水、喜悅、恐懼、幸福和痛苦,以及所有在阿根廷這樣不同地方的人們,台灣、南非、特立尼達、日本、巴西、美國和中國給了我如此多的愛和支持,這張專輯背後的感激之情和我所做的每一件事都讓我不知所措。  

 

 

                 從音樂的角度來看,這是我第一次冒險寫歌,這是一個巨大的風險,因為我以前從未寫過任何歌詞。除此之外,ON 的主要目標是將讓我在阿根廷長大的所有節奏都帶回阿根廷,並嘗試完全使用計算機生成的聲音開發它們,但保留人類的感覺。我們使用計算機就像使用樂器一樣,用手演奏所有東西,但使用的聲音調色板只有數字媒體才能提供。以下是每個曲目的簡要說明:

 

關於自由。 

這是第一首部分是科薩語,部分是排灣語的歌曲。來自南非的藝術家Liso GcWabe負責編曲,錄製了台灣開普敦和阿爆的一切。音樂基於巴西 Axé,它本身融合了許多不同的南美音樂風格。我們很幸運有巴西吉他大師 Fabio Moreira 為這首歌帶來真正的味道。      

 

對愛情: 

這不過是我為我一生的摯愛,我的妻子皮皮寫的一首情歌。再次與偉大的藝術家合作是關鍵。台灣的 9m88 和南非的 Liso 把這首歌詞活生生地做了一件漂亮的工作,考慮到它是西班牙語、中文和英語,這是一項非常複雜的工作,我被告知這也是第一次完畢。編曲基於稱為 Bolero 的古巴音樂風格,這是出色的拉丁浪漫民謠音樂風格。   

 

關於真相: 

這將是更接近我在之前專輯中所做的音樂的曲目。一首電子融合三重奏曲目,我的低音提琴哥哥張為智(大頭)和鋼琴家的我扮演爵士三重奏的常規角色,程傑傑傑做我們在曲目中聽到的所有其他瘋狂的東西,這恰好包括一些擊鼓。它背後的想法是,當我們明白了一切的時候,真相總是從我們身邊溜走。   

 

關於家庭: 

這首歌試圖將我兒子明柏光(Akira)永無止境的能量流注入音樂中。他喜歡康加鼓、鼓和節奏盡可能快的節奏,這就是為什麼這首曲目基於 Cuarteto,這是我成長過程中非常流行的一種舞蹈音樂風格。  

 

關於友誼: 

這首歌最初是一首混合了巴西桑巴和阿根廷探戈音樂的器樂冷軌。一切都在阿爆聽到後決定加入一些排灣語說唱,點燃它,伴隨著每次聽到都讓我想跳舞的合唱。  

 

關於暴力。 

這條軌道基於烏拉圭的 Candombe,這是一種非常古老的節奏,來自今天的安哥拉,它被歐洲奴隸船帶到了南美洲。隨著時間的推移,烏拉圭和阿根廷的 Candombe 成為一種紐帶形式,它創造了社區,將里約熱內盧拉普拉塔地區的所有不同的少數民族、貧困和工人階級團結在一起,通過演奏、跳舞和唱歌的行為。與程傑傑·鄭和徐皮(編曲)一起,我們試圖以電子朋克的方式重新構想這種節奏。旋律由二胡二胡大師梁文賓演奏,旨在為那些高聲要求停止這種暴力和壓迫的人發聲。   

 

關於呼吸: 

這是一首非常平靜的曲目,基於一種名為 Zamba 的阿根廷古老而緩慢的民間音樂和舞蹈形式。我們在立式鋼琴上錄製了這個,試圖帶來親密的聲音,目的是探索簡單地坐下來呼吸 20 分鐘是多麼的複雜。   

 

關於死亡: 

這首曲目是古巴之子和後搖滾的混合體。它背後的圖像是一個人在醫院生命的最後時刻進出意識。編曲由台灣著名爵士小提琴家魏君編排,並由他的弦間四重奏錄製。他們將臥床不起的人在生命的最後時刻擬人化。  

 

在台灣: 
這首歌的音樂也深受古巴音樂傳統的影響,但旋律一半來自傳統的客家樂曲,另一半來自傳統的原住民樂曲。我認為台灣這個島嶼的本質是混合的,是關於其人民根源的不確定性,以及在這種不確定性之上建立身份認同的強烈需求;解決這種不確定性的可能性,以及通過擁抱它來建立強大身份的追求。這項任務與所有拉丁美洲國家曾經和仍然擁有的任務完全相同,尤其是古巴。因此,這首歌以深刻的方式反映並和平地試圖慶祝這兩個截然不同但又非常相似的島嶼上人們平靜而緩慢的力量。
  

 

關於感恩: 

這首歌不言自明。我在歌詞上非常努力,我將永遠感謝我的兄弟Sherwyne Pereyra(來自特立尼達,但現在在台灣生活了20多年)和Chemu(來自肯尼亞,但過去3年也住在台灣)年)以這種方式使這首歌詞栩栩如生。我還要感謝我的兄弟、貝斯巨星 Michael Ning 幫助建立了凹槽;還要感謝回到南非的 Liso 和他的聲樂團隊,感謝他們最後帶來的所有聲樂。  

 

關於這個項目,幾乎所有要說的就是這些。我將永遠感謝文化部讓這個夢想成為現實。我喜歡音樂,但製作它對我來說並不容易,我不知道哪張專輯會是我的最後一張。所以,直到下一個(如果有下一個),我都會給你們所有的擁抱和很多的愛。  

 

謝謝收聽!

 

穆薩明馬丁,宜蘭縣,頭城鎮,2021十月五日。

Acerca de

MUSA-ON4000x4000.jpg

Letter to the listeners of ON

                                       ON is a play of words. First and foremost this is an electronic project, and all electronic devices necessarily have an On button. But the word ON in English also means about (as in my upcoming book “On the nature of being and pastries”). Each of the songs in this album reflect on specific subjects that with the passing of time seem to become more and more important for me (such as pastries). 

 

                                      But this album is not just about me. Not at all. Around five years ago, I was somehow able to leave behind my unfounded (and quite stupid) prejudices towards electronic music. As I started to get myself into it, very quickly I realized that, in a very different way, it was as deep and complicated as Tango, Jazz, Cuban music, and all the other things that I love to listen and play. Doing the demos of these 10 tracks, it became clear to me that I needed help, and I could only think of one person. I sent an email to 程杰 Jay Cheng (cause he doesn’t use any messaging or social media apps at all) and he agreed to meet me. From then on, this became our album. On paper, he is the producer and I am the artist. In reality, we are just two craftsmen with different sets of tools working on the same pieces of wood. To introduce this album I will share with you all the short texts I presented to him on that meeting when I gave him the 10 demos:

        

                                       I was lucky enough to have been born into a family that gave me a strong sense of Freedom. I was taught from a very early age that even if my freedom was reduced only to choosing whether or not to end my own life, there’s always a degree of freedom in the things we do, and that it is essential not to lose sight of that. But not only was I lucky for the sense of freedom I was given, but also for the Love I was given too. I am because someone cared for me, or else I wouldn’t be. Someone fed me and gave me warmth, which is why I think that without love human life wouldn’t be possible. 

                                       Unfortunately, I used that freedom and love to pursue things I didn’t actually need or even liked, just because I wanted to fit in. I thought that being part of my family and the society I was born into was more important than being honest with myself, which only brought a lot of pain. So when I was finally able to be sincere and to accept and live my inner Truth, as ever changing as it was, and still is, I found the person with whom I would start my own Family. Over the years we realized that the relationship upon which our family is built, based in freedom, love and truth, is nothing but a profound form of Friendship, which seems to be the only kind of human relation that lasts a lifetime. Unfortunately, it seems to me that in every form of human interaction, the emergence of Violence is always a latent possibility. When violent emotions arise, if I let them take over, the feeling of regret is the only possible outcome. To avoid it, the simple act of Breathing is essential. It allows for the space to realize that the violent feeling, like any other emotion or feeling, will ultimately subside. If done daily, this act of breathing showed me that it is possible to live in a somewhat less defensive state of mind. With the passage of time, I came to see this as a cycle that tends to repeat itself in different forms, from love to violence and back to love, which seems to end with our last action on earth, Dying. So, I guess that if I try to be aware of the delicate balance of things, not attaching myself to the darker aspects of the journey and seeing their relation to the brightest one, I’ll be all right (I hope). Where does this journey happen? in Taiwan. This island and its people have provided me with all the tools and opportunities I needed to develop myself in the way that I did. This is why when now, almost into my 40th birthday, I look back and think of all the love, the tears, the joy, the fears, the happiness and the pain, and of all the people that in places as different as Argentina, Taiwan, South Africa, Trinidad, Japan, Brazil, the US and China gave me so much love and support, I am overwhelmed by a feeling of Gratitude that is behind this album and every single thing I do. 

 

 

                                  From a musical point of view, this is the first time that I venture into songwriting, which was a huge risk because I’ve never written any lyrics before. Other than that, the main goal of ON was to take all the rhythms that made me dance back in Argentina growing up and try to develop them completely using computer-generated sounds but retaining the human feel. We used the computer exactly like we use instruments, playing everything by hand, but using the palette of sounds that only a digital medium can provide. Here’s a brief description of each of the tracks:

 

On Freedom. 

This is the first song that is part Xhosa, part Paiwan language. From South Africa, artist Liso GcWabe did the vocal arrangement and recorded everything in Capet Town and 阿爆 here Taiwan. The music is based on Brazilian Axé which is itself a fusion of many different South American music styles. We were very lucky to have Brazilian guitar master Fabio Moreira to bring the real flavor to the track.          

 

On Love: 

This is nothing but a love song I wrote for the love of my life, my wife Pipi. Again collaborating with great artists was the key. 9m88 here in Taiwan and Liso back home in South Africa did a beautiful job bringing this lyrics to life, which was a very complicated job considering it is in Spanish, Chinese and English, which I’ve been told is also the first time it is done. The arrangement is based on the Cuban style of music called Bolero, which is the latin romantic ballad music style par excellence.    

 

On Truth: 

This would be the track that more closely resembles the music I did on my previous albums. An electronic fusion trio track, where my brother 張為智 (大頭) on Double Bass and I on the piano occupy the regular roles of a jazz trio and 程杰 Jay Cheng does all the other crazy stuff that we hear on the track, which happens to include some drumming. The idea behind it is that just when we thing we got it all figured out Truth keeps always slipping away from us.   

 

On Family: 

This track tries to put into music the never-ending stream of energy that is my son 明柏光 (Akira). He loves congas, drumming and rhythms as fast paced as possible, which is why this track is based on Cuarteto, which was an immensely popular dance style of music when I was growing up.  

 

On Friendship: 

This is a song that was originally an instrumental chill track that mixed Brazilian Samba and Argentine Tango music. All that ended when 阿爆 heard it and decided to throw in some Paiwan language rap on it, setting it on fire with a chorus that makes me wanna dance every time I hear it.  

 

On Violence. 

This track is based on Uruguayan Candombe, which is a very old rhythm from what today is Angola that was brought to South America in European slave ships. In time, Candombe, both in Uruguay and Argentina, became a form of bonding, of creating community, uniting all the different minorities and poor and working class people of the Rio de La Plata area in the act of playing, dancing and singing. With 程杰 Jay Cheng and 徐皮 (arranger) we tried to re-imagine this rhythm in an electro-punk way. The melody is played by 二胡 erhu master 梁文賓 aiming to be the voice of those who lift their voice demanding for this violence and oppression to stop.    

 

On Breathing: 

This is a very peaceful track based on an Argentinean old and slow folkloric music and dance form called Zamba. We recorded this on an upright piano, trying to bring forward an intimate sound, with the intention of exploring how deceptively complicated is to simply sit down and breathe for 20 minutes.   

 

On Dying: 

This track is a mixture of Cuban Son and Post Rock. The image behind it is of a person on its last moments of life in a hospital going in and out of consciousness. The arrangement was made by famous Taiwanese jazz violinist Wei-Jun and recorded by his Interstring quartet. They personify the family members of the bedridden person in their last moments of life.  

 

On Taiwan: 
The music in this track is also heavy influenced by the Cuban musical tradition, but the melody comes half from a traditional Hakka sample and the other half from a traditional Aboriginal sample. I think the essence of this island, Taiwan, is that of mixture, of an uncertainty about the roots of its people, and of a strong need to build identity on top of that uncertainty; the impossibility of solving that uncertainty and the quest to build a powerful identity by embracing it. This quest is exactly the same as the one all Latin American countries had and still have, none more so than Cuba. So in a profound way, this track reflects and peacefully tries to celebrate the calm and slow paced strength of the people on this two very different yet very similar islands.   

 

On Gratitude: 

This song speaks for itself. I worked very hard on the lyrics and I will be forever grateful to my brother Sherwyne Pereyra (originally from Trinidad, but living in Taiwan for more than 20 years now) and to Chemu, (from Kenya but also living in Taiwan for the past 3 years) for bringing this lyrics to life in such a way. I am also grateful to my brother, and bass superstar, Michael Ning for helping out in building the groove; and to Liso and his vocal group back in South Africa for all the vocal goodness they bring at the end. 

 

That’s pretty much all there’s to say about this project. I will always be very grateful to the 文化部 for making this dream a reality. I love music, but making it doesn’t come easy to me and I never know which album will be my last one. So, until the next one (if there’s a next one), I send you all hugs and a lot of love. 

 

Thanks for listening!

 

Musa明馬丁, 宜蘭縣,頭城鎮,2021十月五日。